Week in Review (WiR): You Mean I Have to Do This Twice?

by

April 30 – May 6

What’s in a Name: As I try and put my recent running accomplishments into perspective, I find myself separating my 3-year running adventure into three distinct parts. Paul 1.0 (Part 1) began on May 12, 2009 with a nice little 1.94 mile run. Paul 1.0 was my shining achievement. 550 miles run between May 12 and Nov. 5; 50 pounds lost; a 5k time of 24:26; a 10k of 51:21. Those were the glory days, before the ITBS (no, not IBS) derailed me for nearly 4 months. I still believe that if my plan was to run the 2009 MCM instead of the 2010 MCM, I would have succeeded.

Paul 2.0 seemed like a success when you look at the numbers (415 miles, 70 hours of running between March and Sept.) but in reality, it was kind of a failure. I never really got back into a groove. I broke 100 miles in a month just once. I ran just twice in August, six times in September. I failed to get myself in shape for the Marathon.

I’m not going to mention 2011 – great year for me personally becoming a father and all, bad year for running.

Which brings me to Paul 3.0, which started on Feb. 9, 2012. So, anyways, now when you hear me mention Paul 1.0, 2.0 and 3.0, you’ll know what I’m talking about… or not, whatever.

Hooves of Death: As I have mentioned before, I am terribly afraid of wild animals as I run. My preferred running trail during the week is this suburban/woods hybrid that is very conducive to deer sightings. Don’t get me wrong, a nice family of deer is a beautiful and majestic sight to behold.

It’s also absolutely terrifying.

Picture this scenario: you are running down the trail, minding your own business, when suddenly you come upon a family of deer – three adult deer are to your left and a sweet little doe is to your right. “Hmm, I’m between the mother and doe. I hope they don’t think I’m a threat!” you think to yourself as you run on by.

THEY DO! They do think you’re a threat! They attack! Hooves on soft  flesh! Antlers piercing lungs. Sometimes that deer he looks right into ya. Right into your eyes. And, you know, the thing about a deer… he’s got lifeless eyes. Black eyes. Like a doll’s eyes. When he comes at ya, doesn’t seem to be living… until he bites ya, and those black eyes roll over white and then… ah then you hear that terrible high-pitched screamin’. The ocean turns red, and despite all the poundin’ and the hollerin’, they all come in and they… rip you to pieces. (Ed. Note: Okay, most of that’s from JAWS, but you get the idea). I haven’t been attacked yet, but it’s coming, you bet your sweet hooves its coming.

Let’s Look at the Numbers:

April 30: Off
May 1: Boxing
May 2: Boxing
May 3: 4.00 miles, 10:37 pace
May 4: Boxing
May 5: Off
May 6: 13.51 miles, 11:13 pace
Weight: 207.2 pounds

Not much running this week as I prepared for a half marathon training run on Sunday. For those that don’t know, The Running Jerks are running the 2012 MCM Historic Half Marathon on May 20, and because I hadn’t run over 10 miles since June of 2010, I figured I should probably give it a go this week. Holy crap is that horrible. My body essentially shut down at the 11th mile. The entire time, all I was thinking about was “Wait, in September, I have to do this TWICE?” Running is stupid and horrible.

One Response to “Week in Review (WiR): You Mean I Have to Do This Twice?”

  1. G-man Says:

    Good run you dummy and you cant take the 6th off and run 13.51 Miles

Leave a Reply

