Laziness … I Say To Thee Nay!

by

That’s the best pic I could find with ‘Thor dog’ typed in Google. I mean come one, no one has dressed their dog as Thor? That’s disappointing.

Also, if you try to type Google without the capital G, spell-check will tell you to capitalize it. Things change fast now, but that didn’t happen when I was in college ……. when I wrote on parchment with my wildly big quill pen.

It’s been a week since my last post that you didn’t read. I thought I might try to update here a couple times a month at least till the big day. It’ll still probably just be the once a month pace as which I’m used to, but I’m trying to motivate myself to post more.

I know I need more than 1 hand to count the times I’ve quit or stopped running, only to start again and have a post starting “oh man, running is hard, especially when your just starting to run!”. Enough times to know that its lame and enough times to have trouble starting another post about starting running … again … again …

Not evening trying transition sentence.

The last week was my first week of ‘dipping my toe in the water’ kinda runs. Not trying to kill myself, but trying to find out what I can and cannot do. Turns out, I cannot do pretty much anything I could do. Endurance? Gone. Magic insoles? They work, after a half mile of awkward ankle discomfort. Weird left knee pain? Yup, about a mile and a half in almost every run. Not a big problem yet, and I hope it doesn’t become one. I’d just like to run, without pain, if possible.

Since last post, I ran 5 times. 5 times in 6 days. Nothing very long. Longest run was today of about 2.8 miles (I think my Nike+ sensor is on the fritz, my time is way to fast, which screws up my mileage). All my runs were run under caution, trying to run to flatter surfaces and avoiding big hills and really baby my ‘injury’.

Frog Thor? Frog Thor.

I’ve said it before, but it is very humbling getting back on the running side of things. Especially in this awful muggy heat. I was hoping to run at least 2, maybe 3 miles without too much trouble in the first week back. Nope, not on the menu. If I’m running while that crazy ass sun is out, my output will not be good at all; that sun zaps about 50% of my potential. If I run at night, I’ll have most of that back, but I’ll have to battle my old nemesis; Lazy Mike.

He always wants to stop when tired or when half way up a big hill. Because its always easier. It’s always a loud voice I have to ignore, always the devil on my shoulder whispering compelling arguments without an angel on the other side to say otherwise.

Starting over with running means learning how to run again. I’ve taught myself a few times, but its not like riding a bike, I have to teach myself all over again how to say no to urges to stop and teach myself how to propel myself farther. It’s one thing to talk myself into putting on my running gear and shoes, buts another to be able to push myself while out there.

It’s especially hard at the beginning, I should know, I’ve stopped and started again more times than a …. thing … that stops and starts … a lot. Anyway, its hard to get motivated and stay motivated. Its hard to keep running when you can’t run far, and its hot, and there’s better things to do, and there’s a pain in your leg, and there’s a thousand other things running thru your head better than running. It’s easy to quit. It’s easier not to run at all.

At first, the hardest part is to start running. Once you get that going, the next hardest part is to push past the excuses you summon and do what you can do. That’s where I am now;  I can get out and run, but my endurance isn’t where I’d like it and I get an annoying new left knee pain/annoyance. That kinda sucks and I hope its not a thing soon, I just hand a thing and it was annoying.

I don’t quite know the theme or reasoning of this post other than I didn’t want to wait too long between posts. There wasn’t much to record here; I ran 5 days with little increments to get my ankle/body used to the pain/heat. I didn’t see any size-able jump in distance that I could run, but I’m happy with my effort.

Next Post: I’ll either introduce a 3rd element to my training or reveal the charity I’m running for. Also, pictures of dogs in outfits; I’m sorry for this post’s lack of canine hilarity.

 

3 Responses to “Laziness … I Say To Thee Nay!”

  1. Mpm type Says:

    You sir are my hero. Not only are you back out there, hitting it hard, but smart enuff to pace yourself wisely!!! Sooo grateful you’re keeping this log, its hysterical &full of Mikey insight &wit, someday soon you’ll be sooo proud of all you accomplish. Meanwhile, let me be wildly proud for us both!!! Watch that left knee, & most importantly, remember how very much I love you!!! Mums

  2. Mpm type Says:

    You sir are my hero. Not only are you back out there, hitting it hard, but smart enuff to pace yourself wisely!!! Sooo grateful you’re keeping this log, its hysterical &full of Mikey insight &wit, someday soon you’ll be sooo proud of all you accomplish. Meanwhile, let me be wildly proud for us both!!! Watch that l

  3. Momma Roberts Says:

    Sooooo proud of you Mikey!!! Baby that ankle, which I’m sure will gain strength w/every step, and will talk to you on how it’s holding up. Listen to the signals. We need that foot for a very long time!!! Would be soooooo interested in your choice of charity, and would love to donate to which ever you find worthy. You are my hero!!!

Leave a Reply

