Monkey Mini-Update #2: I Overslept

by

What follows is one of my many mini-updates designed to inform you of my progress as I work my way back from a stupid running injury. I’m gonna keep these short and sweet. No frills, no pointless tangents, just the cold, hard facts — and funny monkey pictures. Okay, maybe a few pointless tangents.

Friday, January 15, 2010: One thing that people should know about me – I take about a 1-2 hour nap almost every day. This is not my fault. I blame my profession. Between Aug. 2008 and June 2009, I worked from home for an online company. The overwhelming majority of my workload came between 6 p.m. and 4 a.m. Even at my current job, I don’t spend much time working during normal business hours. I’ve just learned to get the majority of my personal and professional work done late at night. Hence the fact that I’m writing this post at 1:10 a.m.

But for some reason – I like to blame my crippling A.D.D. – I don’t sleep extremely late. I’ll wake up on my own at about 8:30 a.m. with anywhere between 4-6 hours of sleep. Hence the napping. Between 8:30 a.m. and 1 p.m., I get up, eat breakfast, run errands, sometimes (at least two days per week) go into the office, pay bills, watch T.V., etc. By 1 p.m., however, it’s nap time. Sweet, sweet nap time.

The nature of my current job requires me to work from about 6 p.m. to 10 p.m. four to five nights per week. When I was running every day, I would run right after my nap, shower and then hit the road. Since I’ve been unable to run, my naps have getting longer and longer.

This is a very long and boring way to say that I overslept. I was planning on going out for a 2-3 mile run before work tonight. I woke up at 5:45 p.m. after a four hour nap. Believe me, it was fantastic, but it left me no time to run. I swear I’m gonna run tomorrow. I’ll let you know how that goes.

On the positive side, my knee feels great and I am still sore (regular sore, not injury sore) from my run on Wednesday. I haven’t been sore from a run since October, which means I haven’t had a meaningful run since October – until Wednesday. I can’t believe I’m excited to be sore.

Also, I went ahead and ordered this thing called a PattStrap. It’s supposed to work wonders for ITBS. We’ll see how that goes as well.

Leave a Reply

