Sad Puppy News: I’m Shutting it Down

by

sad-dogI’m sure this may come as a surprise to a few of you, but I’m not a doctor. Sure, I’m massively intelligent and have been known to deliver babies in a pinch, but I barely escaped college with my bachelors… of arts, mind you.

In spite of that, I’ve decided to pass judgment on my Iliotibial Band Syndrome. I’m shutting down for the rest of November.

At this point, I’ve read ever single thing ever written on the internet about ITBS. It’s clear what’s happening. After my eight-day layoff, I jumped back into my normal routine with worn-down shoes. The outside of my right shoe was so worn down that my right leg was bowing outward. The 21 miles in three days that I ran after the layoff caused the bursa in my knee to become inflamed. No amount of stretching or painful foam rolling will bring the inflammation down. All I can do is wait it out.

I tried running again today and only lasted .75 miles before I had to stop. I’m being stubborn. I want to run. I need to run. It’s been part of my life for 6 months and it’s dramatically improve my appearance and quality of life. It’s something I actually look forward to doing every day. There’s a reason runners talk about running like they’re in a cult.

But the fact remains that this will not get any better. Everything I’ve read and every person that I’ve talked has said that I need to stop running for two to four weeks. I’ve read that the best way to cure this injury is R.I.C.E (rest, ice, compression, elevation). There’s a reason it’s not called I.C.E.

So I’m shutting it down. We’re still a year away from the marathon. Hopefully, by mid-December, I’ll be right back to where I need to be. This stinks, but there’s no way around it.

2 Responses to “Sad Puppy News: I’m Shutting it Down”

  1. Ashleigh Tullar Says:

    I’m really sorry to hear this news. But I hope you are really RICEing and enjoying your engagement. However I feel that I need to mention that I think you are using cute puppy photos to sway your female readers. Not fair! I’m going to tell mike to put up some cute baby animal photos on his next entry 🙂

  2. The Long Road to Recovery: Part 1 « The Running Jerks Says:

    […] online pointed to Iliotibial Band Syndrome. From everything I read, this wasn’t good. Rest, I was told, was the best remedy. So I rested. I did not run for about a month. This brings us to about midway […]

Leave a Reply

