Runnin’ Tunes (Playlists Be Damned)

by

itunes-logoThe initial idea for this blog was for Mike and I to keep people updated on our runs. Go out running, come back and tell people how much it sucked. Mike has stayed true to the formula, so far, I haven’t. My first goal was to get to the heart of my motivation. Then I just started musing on random topics. I’m gonna trying to get back on pace (PUN!) here.

Run #49: 10km, 1:01.19, 6:08 per km. (Note: I’ve officially made the switch from miles to kilometers. It’s just easier to work it all out in my head. Instead of worrying about 3.1 miles and 6.2 miles, I can just focus on nice round numbers like 5 and 10. I expect to write an overly-long blog post about the change this week. Get excited).

This run was interesting. After a weekend where I only ran once in three days, I was determined to get back on track (PUN x2!). I also wanted to punish myself a little bit by picking up the pace. When I started paying attention to how long it was taking me to run, my main goal became to run 5k in 30 minutes. It took me quite a long time. I never really set a second goal, but thought it would be cool if I could run a 10k in 6o minutes. Man, did I get close tonight. I never once checked my pace or time during my run cause the thought never crossed my mind. My mind was elsewhere (more on that later). My previous best for a 10k was 1:05. Four minute drop. Love actually seeing noticeable progress.

Alright, enough talking shop, let’s get off topic.

Of course, I run with an iPod. For one, it’s connected to the Nike+ sensor in my shoe. Two, I need some tunes when I’m tearing up the trail. Being Monday, I knew I was in store for a long run, hence I would be hearing a lot of bitchin’ tunes. I decided out the gate that I was going to try and remember as many songs as possible and share them with you. I currently have about 3,500 songs on my computer. About 1,200 are able to sync with my iPod. I don’t choose which songs get put on. Every week or so, I let the iPod autofill. I also don’t choose the songs during my run, I just let shuffle choose. This is good and bad. I get to rediscover some music that I haven’t heard in a while. Sometimes, however, songs come on that aren’t really made for running. Ever listened to “What a Wonderful World” by Louis Armstrong while running 6.2 miles? It makes you want to kick a kitten.

So here are the songs that I can remember came on during my run tonight. Commentary added when deemed necessary.

Sublime – Jailhouse (The very first thing you hear in this song is ole’ Bradley yelling “GO!” Fine song out of the gate.

Bad Religion – I Want to Conquer the World (Hey, let’s start with surviving this run and then we’ll worry about amassing an army.)

Beatles – Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds

Beck – Mixed Bizness

Bob Dylan – The Times They Are A Changin’ (I liked it before, when I sat on my ass and ate Doritos)

Dispatch – Flying Horses (Here’s a line from the song: “I took a look, I looked down the road to see a badger and a one-eyed toad. They didn’t say a word, they just looked at me with that wise old look of the old.” I love this song, probably a top-25 song for me, but come on.)

Dropkick Murphys – (F)lanigan’s Ball

Green Day – Horsehoes and Handgrenades (The open line? “I’m not f**king around!” My ankle wasn’t either.)

Kanye West – Good Night + Late + Everything I Am (Three Kanye songs in a row. I like him, but come on, can you sprinkle in a hit?)

Kings of Leon – Revelry

Lars Fredrickson and the Bastards – Army of Zombies (YES!)

Nine Inch Nails – Happiness in Slavery (You see, we’re all slaves to the the public perception of beauty. We’re all just sheep, following what we think what we should look like. I want to quit at this point.)

Zac Brown Band – Different Kind of Fine

Notorious B.I.G. – Juicy (My boy Chris Wallace knew how to do it. He wasn’t running like a punk and the girls pee-peed when they saw him.)

That’s really all I can remember. It was a good day for the iPod.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Runnin’ Tunes (Playlists Be Damned)”

  1. Amber Says:

    I, too, always run to Biggie. Missy Elliot and David Bowie always make appearances, too. “Rebel, Rebel” has the perfect pace.

  2. Nern Says:

    Paul-
    Create a Smart Playlist in iTunes. In the criteria section (Apple-I) choose “Last Played” + “is in the last” + “1 day”. Then go to that playlist and sort it by “Last Played” (to add or delete viewed columns click Apple-J). That will let you not stress your brain too much remembering what you heard.

Leave a Reply

